The Luster of Lost Things

The Luster of Lost Things

Large Print - 2017 | Large print edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
"A fablelike debut for readers of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Rebecca Makkai's The Borrower, in which a boy with an uncanny ability to find lost objects must embark on his most important search yet in order to save his mother's enchanted dessert shop, the only place he's ever called home. There's only one place in the world that lonely twelve-year-old Walter Lavender Jr. feels at home: The Lavenders, his mother's unusual West Village dessert shop, where meringues scud through displays like clouds, marzipan dragons breathe actual fire, and the airy angel food cake can make customers pounds lighter. When the mysterious and magical Book at the heart of the shop vanishes and a landlord threatens closure, it's up to Walter to find the Book and save the shop. Despite--or because of--a communication disorder that renders him speechless and friendless, Walter has a special ability to find lost things. In fact, the only thing he's failed to find is his father, a pilot lost in a presumed plane crash at sea before Walter was born. Accompanied by Milton, his best friend and overweight golden retriever, Walter's quest will take him around and under New York City, into subway tunnels and soaring over Central Park, from bottle collecting in Chinatown to racing through the Met, and introduce him to the extraordinary and forgotten people of this fantastical city. Along the way he will discover his voice and learn what it means to truly be found"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2017
Edition: Large print edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781432845742
1432845748
Characteristics: 439 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
large print

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
jaxsrose
Jul 09, 2020

It took me a bit to get into it but once I got going I did not want to put this one down. I loved the storey and Walter and his dog and all the characters he met along the way. It was so sweet. It made me cry and touched my heart. So good!

j
judy4234
Aug 23, 2019

Loved this book. It's up there with another favourite Elegance of the hedgehog.

i
IrishMoon
Jan 21, 2019

Fabulous! Absolutely fabulous!!!

j
joanblackman
Feb 08, 2018

Beautiful, lyrical story

m
mkhaldrich
Dec 30, 2017

Sweet story that was entertaining, even if a little predictable. I would recommend it as a light, easy read.

r
readmorebooks
Nov 14, 2017

A really great book. If you liked WONDER you will love this book. How a boy who finds lost things finds himself and his voice.

j
jonesin
Aug 18, 2017

Delightful, whimsical storytelling and delicious words full of wonder. Makes you want to see the world through the eyes of Walter Lavender Jr and believe in the power of kindness.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MORE

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top