Fever

Fever

A Novel

Book - 2017 | First Grove Atlantic hardcover edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
"Nico Storm and his father Willem drive a truck filled with essential supplies through a desolate land. They are among the few in South Africa -- and the world, as far as they know -- to have survived a devastating virus which has swept through the country. Their world turned upside down, Nico realizes that his superb marksmanship and cool head mean he is destined to be his father's protector, even though he is still only a boy. But Willem Storm, though not a fighter, is both a thinker and a leader, a wise and compassionate man with a vision for a new community that survivors will rebuild from the ruins. And so Amanzi is founded and the community grows -- and with each step forward, as resources increase, so do the challenges they must face -- not just from the attacks of biker brigands, but also from within. As Nico undergoes an extraordinary rite of passage in this new world, he experiences hardship and heartbreak and has his loyalty tested to its limits."-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Atlantic Monthly Press, 2017
Edition: First Grove Atlantic hardcover edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780802126627
0802126626
Characteristics: 536 pages : map ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Seegers, K. L. - Translator
Alternative Title: Fever

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
bethstewart22
Jun 09, 2020

G&M-read first

k
kkucker
Oct 26, 2018

Post apocalyptic thriller set in S Africa

o
offthecuff
Mar 14, 2018

Imaginative, fast-paced, a terrific read!

JessicaGma Dec 14, 2017

A very well done dystopia set in South Africa. Nico's point of view is quite revealing and heartbreaking. I am curious to see if this will lead into a series or not, but this is very much worth reading.

JCLKariE Nov 08, 2017

William and Nico Storm, a father and son team, drive their Vovlo truck full of supplies through the barren wasteland of South Africa searching for decent people and a place to start over. A pandemic decimates the world’s population.

This post-apocalyptic thriller has a lot going for it. The characters are tough, wise, and intriguing. My favorite is Domingo, a mysterious man who shows up and wants to protect the new settlement. He does not discuss his background, which is obviously military. Fans of Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, Max Brook’s World War Z and Justin Cronin’s The Passage will enjoy this diary-like format of telling a story for future generations. Meyer makes sure to leave the door open for future installments.

n
NedSu
Oct 31, 2017

This is a worthwhile addition to the post apocalyptical genre. It has the added appeal (for me) of taking place in another country - South Africa, and some of the colloquialisms had me doing additional research. The author uses the genre to explore the nature of humanity and the role of society in helping humanity survive under extreme conditions.

The protagonist and narrator of the bulk of the novel is a teenager who is prone to misinterpreting his role models, which makes this a bit of a coming of age story, too. The universe is well thought out and despite the locale, very plausible. It is reminiscent of the work of William R Forstchen, but is a definite page turner as the reader wants to find out what happens next

s
srkmeyer
Sep 21, 2017

The pages easily turn.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MORE

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top